Samsung LN52A550 | 52-inch LCD Review

10Dec08

“Samsung’s LN52A550 is excellent, I have no complaints…”

I bought the 52-inch Samsung LN52A550 LCD in May 2008 and could not be happier with my decision. If you are condsidering the LN52A550 TV you may also be looking at the 6, 7, or 8 series Samsung LCDs of the same size. I did not find the faster refresh rate worth the money to upgrade to the 6 series, and one feature I like on this TV that the higher series change is the screen protector. This TV has a typical LCD screen, where as the higher level “touch of color” models put a reflective piece in front of it. This is just a matter of opinion, but for day-time viewing there is less glare with this screen.

Picture quality is excellent, I play lots of Xbox 360 and watch lots of movies (DVD, HD-DVD, Blu Ray) in full 1080p and the picture is stunning. The other TV I was considering (similar in size/price) was the 50″ 1080p Plasma from Samsung. When it came down to it I got a better deal on this one and that pushed me to this set, but here is what I considered with the plasma-

Plasma has deeper colors (+)
Uses more power (although it can be calibrated to help) (-)
Plasma has a glass screen=more reflective in daytime viewing (-)

If you are looking for an everyday, anytime use TV, this will be a good choice. If you are a hardcore gamer, have a darker room with no windows/low light, then plasma may be the way to go, and if you want to shell out the extra cash, go for a model with the 120Hz refresh rate, but personally I did not find it worth the money.

The only complaint I have about this TV is the sound- not so great as other samsung ln52a550 reviews have said as well online. My wife prefers to just turn on the TV and watch it (not deal with the receiver, just stick with the basics) and she is not bothered by the sound, but I have it hooked up to surround sound (most of you probably will) and therefore I could care less how the stock speakers sound. I will probably be purchasing a smaller version of this same set later on for regular viewing and move the 52″ into a game/movie room, and at that point the TV speakers will be disabled. Just something to keep in mind if you don’t plan on using this set with a surround sound system.

Samsung LN52A550 | 52-inch LCD Review from Amazon.com

A. Pauley (Phoenix, USA) – More Reviews from Amazon.com



No Responses Yet to “Samsung LN52A550 | 52-inch LCD Review”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment